IND Dominates IRE by Eight Wickets in T20 World Cup 2024

India beats Ireland by eight wickets in T20 World Cup 2024 opener, Rohit Sharma shines
Rohit Sharma celebrates after leading India to an eight-wicket victory against Ireland in the T20 World Cup 2024 opener.

Yesterday was the first match of this season of T20 World Cup 2024 which India played. The Indian cricket team has made a great start in the T20 World Cup 2024 by defeating Ireland. Thanks to the all-round performance of all the players of Team India, the team has given a great gift to the Indian fans by defeating Ireland by 8 wickets. In this match, India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bowl first. The Ireland team collapsed for just 96 runs in 16 overs. The Indian bowlers stopped them from scoring big. The Indian team completed this low scoring target in just 12.2 overs and India won easily by losing two wickets.

Indian Bowlers Made A Splash

Captain Rohit Sharma once again made Indians proud by playing a brilliant innings for India. Rohit scored a brilliant 52 runs with the help of four fours and three sixes in 37 balls. Rohit Sharma retired hurt after this. He had to return due to a minor injury in his shoulder. In bowling, Hardik Pandya took the maximum number of three wickets from the Indian team.

Rohit trusted his bowlers and decided to bowl first. His decision was absolutely correct. In the third over of the innings, Arshdeep Singh gave two blows to Ireland. First he took the wicket of Ireland captain Paul Stirling, then on the last ball of the over he also dismissed Andy Balbirnie. Balbirnie scored five runs, while Stirling scored two runs. After this, Hardik Pandya sent Lauren Tucker to the pavilion, creating panic among the opposing team. Tucker could score only ten runs.

IND vs IRE Highlights

Harry Tector became Bumrah’s victim. After this, Curtis Campher was sent to the pavilion by Pandya after scoring just 12 runs. Apart from this, Mohammad Siraj also dismissed George Dockrell. Shivam Dubey dismissed Mark Adair to give Pandya his third wicket. Mark and Dockrell scored three runs each. Axar Patel’s name was added to the list of wickets after Barry McGarthy took a brilliant catch on his own ball. Then, Bumrah got his second success by sending Joshua Little to the pavilion. Ireland’s batting ended when Gareth Delany was run out.

Kohli’s Magic Did Not Work, Rohit Shone

India had to score only 97 runs to achieve the target of victory. Virat Kohli and Rohit started the match, but Kohli suffered a big blow as soon as he came and Ben White got him out on the fourth ball of the third over, thanks to the catch of Mark Adair. Kohli was out after just one run. This was his lowest score in the T20 World Cup. Rohit continued his game and completed his half-century by playing long balls. But despite scoring 52 runs, he had to retire hurt. He was injured. Apart from four fours, Rohit hit three sixes while facing 37 balls.

Pant performed his responsibility well and continued to try to score runs quickly. Suryakumar Yadav could not do anything special and was out after scoring two runs off four balls. Suryakumar was out of the game on the fourth ball of the 11th over. Pant hit a brilliant shot on McGarthy’s ball on the second ball of the next over and sealed the team’s victory by hitting a six.

This time 20 teams will participate in the T20 World Cup to be held in the USA and West Indies. Each of the five teams competing has been divided into four groups. Group A consists of arch-rivals India, Pakistan, Canada, Ireland and the United States. India and Pakistan are two of the strongest candidates to advance to the next round in this group. Pakistan managed to win the T20 title in 2009, but India emerged victorious in the 2007 T20 World Cup.

India Won In 2007

In the first T20 World Cup held under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India won the championship by defeating Pakistan in 2007, while in 2014 the Indian team was runner-up after losing to Sri Lanka. This time the Indian team is captained by Rohit Sharma. This competition includes great players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav and Jaspreet Bumrah.

After the victory against Ireland, the expectations of Indian fans have increased even more and now everyone is waiting for that historic day of 9th June when India will face its biggest rival Pakistan.


Rohit Sharma ©, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj.


Paul Stirling ©, Andrew Balbirnie, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little, Benjamin White.

Click Here For More Information


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here