T20 WC South Africa vs Sri Lanka 2024 Match Analysis

South Africa vs Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2024
South Africa's bowlers dominated Sri Lanka, restricting them to 77 runs, before chasing down the target with six wickets in hand in a one-sided Group D match.

T20 WC SA vs SL: The fourth match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 was played between Sri Lanka and South Africa yesterday. In this fourth match between Group D, South Africa defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets. This match was played at Nassau Stadium. In the match, Sri Lanka’s team batted first and scored only 77 runs and in response, South Africa team won the match by losing only 4 wickets.

After winning the toss, the Sri Lankan team decided to bat first and could score only 77 runs in 19.1 overs. In reply, South Africa achieved the target in 16.2 overs for the loss of four wickets and won the match. South Africa had to face a lot of difficulties in chasing this modest score. South Africa scored 80 runs in 16.1 overs by losing 4 wickets. Even in this low scoring match, the Sri Lankan team gave a tough competition to South Africa in chasing their target.

In challenging conditions at Nassau Stadium, Sri Lanka took two wickets of South Africa for 27 runs in the powerplay. Spinner Wanindu Hasaranga took two wickets for 17 runs in three overs. Due to the small target, South Africa won in 16.2 overs only. Now it is at the top of Group D with two points with a net run rate of 1.048. Bangladesh, Nepal and Netherlands are also in this group. Heinrich Klaasen almost sealed South Africa’s victory by hitting Hasaranga for 11 runs including a six in the 15th over.

South Africa Got a Historic Win After 12 Years

In this fourth match of T20 World Cup 2024, South Africa started with a win. For the first time in the last 12 years, South Africa has won its opening match in the T20 World Cup. In the last T20 World Cup, this team could not even win its opening match. The team had to face defeat 3 times and 1 match was washed out due to rain. But this time the South African team was successful in registering its victory in the very first match.

South African Bowlers Put Up a Strong Performance

Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis started the innings for Sri Lanka. Both tried to give Sri Lanka a positive start, but they were not successful in doing so. Sri Lanka lost only one wicket in the powerplay, this wicket was taken by Otniel Bartman and he made the record of becoming the first South African bowler to take a wicket on the first ball in the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka’s second wicket fell at the score of 31 and after that it did not take much time for their score to become 40/5. Keshav Maharaj put the Sri Lankan team in trouble by taking two wickets in two consecutive balls in the ninth over.

Sri Lanka Gave a Tough Competition

Chasing a modest target of 78 runs, South African team did not have a good start. Reeza Hendricks scored just four runs. After this, Quinton de Kock returned to the pavilion after scoring 20 runs and captain Aiden Markram returned after scoring 12 runs. Tristan Stubbs also scored just 13 runs. After this, Heinrich Klaasen, along with David Miller, played an important role in South Africa’s victory. Klaasen scored 19 runs in 22 balls and Miller scored six runs. For South Africa, Sri Lankan captain Wanindu Hasaranga took two wickets while Nuwan Tushara and Dasun Shanaka got one wicket each.

South Africa’s bowlers performed brilliantly against Sri Lanka. Apart from Norkia, Kagiso Rabada took two wickets for 21 runs while spinner Keshav Maharaj took two wickets for 22 runs. South Africa’s bowlers gave a tough fight to Sri Lanka’s team. The drop-in pitch of Nassau County International Cricket Stadium proved unlucky for Sri Lankan batsmen.

Both the matches of India are going to be played on this ground in Nassau. India will play its match against Ireland on 5th June and Pakistan on 9th June. India played its only warm-up match against Bangladesh on this ground and achieved a spectacular victory.

ICC T20 WC SA vs SL 2024 Match ANALYSIS

The two teams for the match are as follows-

South Africa: Aiden Markram (captain), Otniel Bartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jensen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Enrique Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabrez Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Sri Lanka: Wanindu Hasaranga (captain), Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Mahesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Mathesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka.

Click Here For More Information


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here